## Competitions Working Group - Report

## Summary of proposals

As I announced at the AGM this year I formed a working group to look into the effectiveness of our current internal League competitions. This was in response to points made in the recent members' questionnaire.

#### The group was made up of:

- Gordon Brown as Competition Secretary
- Tony Smith as committee representative
- Roger Dixey representing the Advanced class
- Alan Thompson representing the Intermediates class
- Deborah Gordon for the Beginners class

#### The specific objectives were:

- Assess the effectiveness of the three classes
- Determine if a system could be found to keep the classes balanced
- Encourage more people to enter

We have met three times to discuss our thoughts. The table below represents the summary of the significant decisions and recommendations, and shows the three motions that we will vote on at the SGM.

Point	Headline	Description	
1	Standardise on 20% of entries to be awarded a HC	This is to: 1) increase the number of Highly Commendeds that are awarded overall and to 2) standardise on the number that are awarded. This will produce more fairness across the season as a consistent number will be awarded for each class rather than a judge's whim. The Competition Secretary will calculate the number required on the night based on the number of entries and inform the	
		judge how many are required.	
2	Abolish 1 point for entering	It was felt that this encourages people to enter anything in a competition rather than considering the quality of an image. The group felt that this is a way to improve the calibre of the images and be a fairer representation of the photographic skills of each person. It was however concluded that the one point for entering should be retained for the Beginners Group to continue to encourage entering as a way to practice and improve their skills.	
3	Create four groups	entering as a way to practice and improve their skills.  We've had three competitions classes for a number of years and, without relegation, the consequence is that the Intermediates and Advanced have grown to a point where there are so many people it has become difficult to manage the numbers and for people to get recognition. Splitting into four will allow us to even the numbers to get a fairer number of people in each group and for a certain rebalancing to better represent everyone's skills. The team discussed various methods that allocates members to the four new classes as fairly as possible. We decided to order the groups and then divide the numbers in to four with slightly increasing numbers to allow for future promotions. Appendix A shows where you would be placed if we were to adopt this model.  Proposed names:  • Gold  • Advanced  • Intermediate  • Beginners	

### Motions to be voted on

- Motion 1: Point 1, Standardise on, approximately, 20% of entries to be awarded Highly Commended
- Motion 2: Point 2, Abolish the 1 point for entering, other than for the Beginners League
- Motion 3: Point 3, Adopt four Leagues:
  - If Yes to Motion 3: Motion 4: Point 3, Adopt four Leagues for this season or next
  - If No to Motion 3: no further vote required

# Appendix A – The four Leagues

League 4 - Beginner	League 3 - Intermediate	League 2 - Advanced	League 1 - Gold
Chrissi Travell	Jan Hedger	Ann Erkut	Pete Whieldon ARPS DPAGB
Bob Allen	Sue Birtwistle	Geoff Sharman	Roger Dixey ARPS DPAGB BPE2*
Kate Carslaw	Tim Lever	Robin Shaw LRPS	David McKibbin LRPS
Peter Henderson	Jacquie Powell LRPS	Barbara Lambert CPAGB	Dave Kiddle LRPS
Geraldine Guthrie	Mike Shaw	Linda Carlin	Ray Hems
Paul Morey	Steve Russell	Sarah Strange LRPS	Maria Leekblade LRPS CPAGB AFIAP
Geoff Budd	Stephanie Patterson	Anita Taylor	Glyn Paton LRPS
Ian Douglas	Rafe Pascual	Dawn Blight LRPS	Alison Cawley ARPS DPAGB EFIAP BPE1*
Bruce Mackay	Carey Wall	Phil George	Gavin Bowyer ARPS
Bob Henley	Graham Barber LRPS	Gerard Carlin	Martin Farrow ARPS
Bryce Richardson	Andy Knowles	Janette Lloyd	Trevor Morecraft LRPS
Ben Sharman	Jennifer Joel	Andy Dobson	Adrian Binney LRPS
Maurice Jones	Steven Cooper	Anthony Golledge	Gordon Brown ARPS
Tim Morton	Steve Pullen	lan McEvoy	Paul Davison ARPS DPAGB
Stella Chandler	Sarah Walton	Mario Brown	Mike Lane CPAGB
Angela Cook	John McCarthy	Phil Terry	Sarah Townley LRPS
Eleanor Coke	Lynette Clark	Trevor Davies LRPS	Tony Cowburn LRPS
Chrissie Landale	Atul Kshirsagar	Zoltan Balogh	Tony Smith ARPS DPAGB
Keith Sloan	John Greenwood LRPS	Adrian Brophy	Eric Blake LRPS
Sylvia Shankland	Mike Roe LRPS	Bijen Gurung LRPS	Steve Green LRPS
Syrvia Silamilana	Steve Shaw	Chris Gillard LRPS	Anne Ruffell ARPS DPAGB
	Tony Large	Chris Morris ARPS	Ron Foulkes ARPS CPAGB
	Viv Brett LRPS	Jean Wheeler	Chris Maidens LRPS CPAGB AFIAP
	Ray Benzal	John Davis	Corinne Kozok CPAGB
	Gay Hopkins	Louise Brown LRPS	COMME ROZOR CLINED
	Jude Blackman	Nick Townley LRPS	
	Richard Lewis	Roger Clark ARPS	
	Roger Holtby	Rosslyn Pritchard LRPS	
	Rose Hawkins	Dan Cowen	
	Martin Rist	Gavin Mann	
	Andy Dobson	Sue Binney	
	Ally Kaiser	Adrian Walmsley LRPS	
	Colin Chase	Alan Thompson LRPS	
	Colin Pritchard LRPS	Jeff Johnson LRPS	
	John Tennent	Jill North LRPS	
	Julia Matthews	Helen Otton	
		Pat Goodall LRPS	
	Keith Taylor LRPS  Mark McLaren	James West	
	Michelle Gale	Miranda Johnson	
		Rob Harris	
	Philippa Hayter	VON LAIII?	
	Deborah Gordon		
	John Burke		
	John Rose		
	Justine Shotton		
	Peter O'Sullivan		
	Deneen Mitchell		
	Lewis Desforges		

Newcomers will be added and allocated to an appropriate league after discussion with the Competition Secretary